Top 5 Anime

Hey guys!

Here’s a list of my Top 5 Anime. For me, my top 5 would consist of anime that I can re-watch and enjoy it just as much as I did the first time around. The anime that I will mention have all the elements that I enjoy in a good story: strong friendship, action, adventure and most importantly, relatable characters.

  1. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Fmab-poster.png

FMAB will always, always be my favorite anime. This particular story holds a very special place in my heart. I have re-watched the entire series 2X now, and writing this list is making me want to watch it again. The characters are extremely lovable and the plot is engaging. It has some funny elements here & there. Our main characters, Ed & Alfonse, are brothers on a journey to retrieve Alfonse’s body…okay that sounds weird now that I’ve typed it, but trust me, its worth a shot. It’s also steampunk-y, with magical aspects. Also, the character development is fantastic. It’s a slow-burner, so you get to know the world and characters as the story progresses.

Number of episodes: 64

English dub: YES

2. Steins;Gate

Steins Gate.jpg                                                                                                          I can’t believe how underrated this anime is! It doesn’t get half the attention that it deserves. It’s one of those stories that completely blow your mind, and leaves you in awe. Steins;Gate is more plot driven, and almost every episode ends with a cliff-hanger. The story is also fast-paced so you’ll be flying through it. It is going to keep you on your toes & you’ll end up binge watching it. Basically, the story follows an eccentric, mad-ish scientist who – unbeknownst to him- somehow, time travels. This starts a chain of reactions that lead him and his friends trying to figure out what happened and how to undo it. If you’re not into science-fiction & time travel, this might not be for you. But, this is a good place to start if you’re interested though.

Number of episodes: 24

English dub: YES

3. Blue Exorcist

Blue Exorcist

This is your typical, happy-go-lucky-friendship-conquers-all kind of anime, except it isn’t. It uses that trope but it’s been tweaked and turned into something original and I love it. This story has fantastical elements and the world is interesting to say the least. It follows our main character, Rin, who aspires to be an Exorcist like his father. Exorcists are trained in a special school where they learn various techniques on how to fight demons. The story has great friendships, but the thing that I love the most is that these friendships aren’t instantly formed. The characters take time to get to know each other, which is definitely a realistic approach. The second season is currently on-going, but you’ll be fine if you watch the first season (it doesn’t end with a cliff-hanger or anything).

Number of Episodes: 25

English dub: YES

4. Angel Beats!

Angel Beats!.jpg                                                                                                           Ever feel self-destructive, when all you want to do is cry for no apparent reason? This is it. Literally, made me cry like a baby & I’m not even exaggerating. You’ll learn to love these characters so quickly and with such fervor, its insane! The world is so unique, it’s set in an ‘afterlife,’ kind of a place. Its kind of hard to explain without spoiling anything. This is going to make you cry, but it’s also going to make you laugh! Honestly, although its cry-worthy, I’m glad I watched it. I got to know such amazing, diverse characters and learned to love them. The plot is great, but the characters make this anime amazing. They’re flawed, and realistic, which is always appreciated.

Number of Episodes: 13

English dub: YES

5. Attack on Titan

Attack on Titan.png

I know, I know, EVERYONE raves about how good Attack on Titan is, BUT THE HYPE IS REAL Y’ALL. It has every element that makes a story great!

  • Plot twists? Check
  • Good Friendship? Check
  • Amazing world-building? Check
  • Diverse, multi-dimensional & layered characters? Double Check!

 

This is a great pick if you’re just starting to watch anime, but don’t know where to start. Set in a dystopian world where humanity faces the threats of humungous, human-like creatures called Titans. People live in a society that is encased in massive, thick walls meant to keep the titans away. No one has seen the outside world. But all of that is about to change, when the biggest Titan ever witnessed decides to pay a visit. Our main character, Eren, is strong headed and stubborn, & wants to protect mankind. This description is just the tip of the ice-berg, and you will be left wanting more once you’re done watching the first season. Be warned, the second season is yet to be released…it’s worth the wait though.

Number of Episodes: 25

English dub: YES

Since I couldn’t resist (I seriously suck), here’s some honorable mentions:

  • Parasyte – The Maxim
  • My Little Monster
  • Death Note

I would love to know what your Top 5 anime are & why!

-Amna

About bookishendeavors

Broke college student who likes to read.
This entry was posted in Top 5 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Top 5 Anime

  1. abookishbelle says:

    I’m almost finished watching Death Note.. IM OBSESSED!! I’m planning on watching fullmetal alchemist as soon as i finish and attack on titan is definitely on my list!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adam says:

    Ah Steins Gate. That one really surprised me. It started off so weird and goofy, and then it gradually found real depth, before becoming very mature.
    If you’re in the market for Death Note meets Blue Exorcist I’d recommend Code Geass. It has a protagonist comparable to Light, but the overall tone alternates between the Machiavellian plotting of Death Note, and the levity of Blue Exorcist’s social/school subplot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard so much about Code Geass. Would definitely check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        I’m always up for trading or discussing anime. One of my more recent pastimes has been doing a general search for a specific anime, and using other bloggers’ posts as a springboard for comment based discussion.

        Like

      • Have you had the chance to read manga? As far as I know, there’s not a big anime based community on WordPress. It’d be interesting if you did your version of Top 5 Anime!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        I’ve read a few manga. I was really struck by Pet Shop of Horrors. I’ve read the manga for Attack on Titan, Berserk, and Naruto, though I often prefer anime for the more action/focused titles.
        In regards to my top anime, offhand I’d say Kino’s Journey, Mushishi, Vision of Escaflowne, Ghost in the Shell, Psycho Pass, and Cardcaptor Sakura.

        Like

Leave a comment