A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls.jpg

Author: Patrick Ness

Pages: 216

Rating:  4/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

Non-spoilery Review:

This is a fairly short read but it packs quite a punch. This book will give you ALL the feels and you’ll be bursting with emotions once you’re done. Be prepared to cry. This a beautiful tale of young boy whose mother is ill and a monster has paid him a visit — this is where the story picks up and we go from there. I really felt for the characters and rooted for them. Patrick Ness managed to tell us this incredible story in such a short number of pages, but thing is, this book is more than just an incredible story! The plot is actually unpredictable and I kept guessing how it would end throughout the book. I would recommend this to absolutely everyone. I really hope that we get a sequel with Conor being a grown-up/young adult.

Spoilery Discussion: 

Yooo, I thought the medicine made from the yew trees would save his mom. My heart broke when Conor finally admitted that he was scared for his mom. The part in the end with his grandmother broke my heart and I think I’m gonna go cry now.

You can buy this book here.

Happy reading!

About bookishendeavors

Broke college student who likes to read.
This entry was posted in book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. So happy you loved this one as much as I did! There should be more books like this one, I love it when it’s heart-breaking 😉 !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. barkhabale says:

    Beautifully written

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome book! And yes, I cried at the end of this one, too. And I’m old. Just goes to show what a good writer Ness is 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this book so so so so much. It absolutely made me sob. I am glad I own it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jasmine says:

    Love your review! I like your straightforward comment about the book. I also appreciates the advance notice “be prepared to cry” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cool. and follow me on instagram . @insta.junoon

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ah yes this definitely made me cry!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tanya Goffy says:

    The illustrations matched the tone of the book, dark, depressing, and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment