Bucket List

Hey guys!

Like most people, I aspire to do some crazy, adventurous things before I die. I thought it would be fun for me to share some things on my bucket list, so far. I think I’ll be more inclined to put an effort to check everything off my list, knowing that I have put it ‘out there.’ I’ll be sure to share with you guys how/when I check these items off, whenever that may be:

  1. Dye my hair bubble gum pink:

I remember my eleven year old self hanging around my best friend who was sitting across a computer screen, playing Super Mario Bros. Her eyes trained hard on the screen. Now that I think about it, she wasn’t even paying attention to what was going around her. Naturally.

‘I love pink color,’ I had declared with utmost certainty.

‘We know, Amna,’ my best friend’s younger sister had said.

‘I know, but if I could, I would get everything in pink color!’ I really did love pink.

Still do, obviously.

‘Would you dye your hair pink, then?’

I had never thought about it before that very moment. And then I had thought about it.

‘Yeah, I would.’

My best friend turned and looked at me wide eyes. And I had decided right then and there, that I would dye my hair pink when I’d be old enough…this was when I didn’t even know what a ‘bucket list’ was. Dying your hair colorful colors wasn’t ‘cool,’ either. And not a bright, in-your-face hot pink. I want a soft, pastel pink. I will die a very sad person if I don’t get to do this. My eleven year old self would’ve considered the now-twenty-year-old Amna old enough. But something is holding me back. I mean, besides my parents being disappointed and calling me an idiot. I don’t want to be stared at. I don’t want to be not taken seriously.

Makes me wonder, why is dying your hair that big of a deal, anyways? Why does it even matter what color your hair is? Its okay if its a brown color. Whats wrong with pink or blue? I guess, I just have to wait until I’m old enough not to give a shit.

      2. Bungee Jumping 

Real original, I know. Im not even particularly scared of heights as some people are. But I look forward to the adrenaline rush. I visited Six Flags with my friends last summer & that was when I understood what it truly meant to get high on adrenaline. And roller coasters aren’t even life threatening (I hope) or anything. That was the day I discovered a part about myself that I thought didn’t exist. Being an introvert, reading books till 4am has always been my idea of adventure…so I had just assumed I would hate Six Flags. Only to find out I loved it!

      3. Visit Scotland

I love folk tales, myths, fairy tales and legends. I love castles, rich history, and magic. Don’t even tell me there isn’t something magical about Scotland. I mean, they have a unicorn as their national animal?! If that doesn’t make for a convincing argument, I don’t know what will.  I don’t know what it is, exactly. And as cheesy as it may sound, I feel this pull and I just have to visit.

Side note, but why does this sound like the beginning of a YA romance fantasy novel…guys, if I disappear all of a sudden, you know what happened…just saying.

I’m also one those presumably weird people who believe that the Loch Ness Monster exists. So, yeah, there’s that, too.

     3. Attend a Hollywood Undead concert 

I can jam to their music any time of the day. I like to believe that I can rap, too. We all know I’m wrong, but let’s not address that. Also, I want lose my voice screaming at the top of my lungs and not look like a crazy person when I do. Sounds fun.

     4. Pole dance 

Honestly, this sounds like so much fun. Just being able to dance thats not very ‘ladylike’ and to have that confidence in yourself. Wow. I hope I can have that someday, not being self-conscious or self-doubting. One day.

     5. Try every gyro cart in Philadelphia 

I love gyro so much. If you’ve not had the fortune to eat some, please, do yourself a favor and indulge. Its the ideal meal on a cold winter day. The perfect blend of spicy and savory. Hot rice with tender, moist meat topped with rich, creamy white sauce and hot sauce. Served with a side of lettuce, tomatoes & warm Peeta bread. Yum. I want to try every single gyro cart in Philly and decide which one I like the best.

     6. Learn ballet 

Okay, so I’m not sure if this is a new found obsession or something I would want, want. I have the habit of getting into things and then losing interest after some time. But I have been fascinated with ballet ever since I watched ‘Angelina the Ballerina’ as a kid. And then the Black Swan. And the now canceled tv show -Buns. Chances are, I would suck big time if I tried. And I think I’m too old to learn ballet now. But I hope to take classes sometime and learn…we shall see! The point is, I at least want to give it a try. I know its really hard and will take a lot of time, but I don’t want to regret not giving it a shot.

What are some things on your bucket list? Any suggestions? Let me know!

-Amna

About bookishendeavors

Broke college student who likes to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bucket List

  1. Scotland is brilliant- hope you get to go one day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment